I have a date for Laparotomy #3: October 21st.  Got to also discuss with nurse the details of surgery prep and the wonderful elixer called Golytely.  Ahh, I remember it well.  Buh-buh-buh-BLECH!

On a lighter note…our five year anniversary is tomorrow.  Huzzah!  We’ve been married for five whole years and…well…what can I say?  We pushed off the shore of single life five years ago in a rickety boat called marriage, ready to sail through sunny skies toward our own private island of bliss.  We ended up in a perfect storm of obstacles, bound and determined to hold fast to one another.  Lately, I feel like Tom Hanks in “Cast Away”…clinging to bits of board and rope…holding on to whatever we can…with our dog as “Wilson” who silently watches us like we’re nuts.

Through it all, my guy has been right there.  He of bad jokes.  He of puns and metaphor.  He could play you the same song on seven different instruments without batting an eye.  Wise beyond his years and as silly as a child.  He gives and gives without asking for anything in return.  I so deeply wish I could give him a child of his own.  He would be the most amazing dad.  We would be the most amazing parents together.

My sweet husband.  He is my absolute rock.  He has been there at every appointment, every single blood draw, every single moment of this journey.  He has been so understanding and…well…just incredible.  If anything, we see that we CAN take it on together.  Stuff has been thrown at us every turn, knocking us down, yet we still manage to crawl back up to standing position. Hand in hand ready for the next round.  I hope I am giving him back what he gives me.

I hope he knows how much I absolutely, positively love him.