As Laparotomy #3 approaches next week, I guess I should be more anticipatory of said procedure?  It honestly feels like it’s not really happening at all.  Like, next week I won’t have my left ovary removed and be cut open yet again.  It must be more of a “outta sight, outta mind” type thing.  Oh well.  It will arrive soon enough.

I have been more focused these past months on running a 5K than hopefully becoming a mom.  It’s been a welcome distraction and a wonderful experience all around.  I don’t think I have the words to accurately describe what it felt like to cross the finish line, hand in hand with my guy.  We worked and trained and ran and ran and ran for months to get to that point, and it was worth every shin splint and stitch.  We might not be able to have our own children, but goddamnit, we worked on this thing together and we reached our goal.  That, in and of itself, was a huge accomplishment for us…and we won’t shut up about it.  LoL.

So it’s a bit of a bummer that, once again, infertility comes to claim it’s prize…my time and health.  I won’t be able to run for weeks.  I will have all this down time during recovery to think…and think.  Another scar on my tummy to remind me of what’s not in there.  (Ugh.) Anyhow…I have a few projects that will hopefully keep my mind busy during the downtime, a doting husband who strives to make me my “rabbit food” by request and a delightful pooch that will be glad for the constant company.  I’m grateful for the very good things and feel lucky to have ’em. 🙂

So…after recovery, look out 10K…we’re comin’ for ya!

