img968

Above you will see the first shipment of meds we received for the stim part of our IVF cycle.  Follistim 900iu and Menopur  75 vials along with syringes, alcohol prep pads and sharps boxes for the used needles.

I set my alarm this morning to make sure I started the Follistim at an appropriate time- 7:00AM.  Got everything set up.  Disinfected my area.  Prepped the pen.  Opened an Follistim instruction video on my laptop…aaaand….could not give myself the shot.  I was so desperate for inspiration, I went and woke up Chris who cheered me on with a 1,2,3 count.  All in all, that shot was nothing.  No biggie at ALL. 

We each took our doxycycline and went back to bed. 

Woke up about 2 hours later and (sorry, but this is disgusting) found that I was spotting/bleeding.  Now, Dr. C said to expect this…but holy cow, I was impressed at how quickly it took effect.  Apparently, due to my supressed situation, I am on dosage levels intended for a 40 year old.  I suppose that’s why everything took effect so quickly.  I feel like I have a super light period.

5:30PM- Time for Menopur shot!  Ok, well, this one was a little more uncomfortable.  Chris was a champ.  He mixed both vials of Menopur in the syringe with the 1cc of saline like a doctor.  I braced myself for the pinch of the needle, but should have better expected the burn from the Menopur.  OUCH.  That was a lil’ bitch.  But it’s over and I am not falling apart, so, good day all in all.

